Local Authority

Spending a brief stint as an ambient bedroom recording experiment of Jacque McGill, 2017 saw the project evolve into a full band with Erica Sunnex (bass, vocals) and Lachlan Andrews (drums) joining the ranks and soon after, Local Authority was born.

In 2019 the band released their debut album 'Negative Space' on 4000 Records, featuring locally lauded singles 'No Joy' and 'Oil Rigs'. The record showcased the band’s particular affinity towards the 80’s and early 90’s alternative U.K. music scenes with equal parts claustrophobic coldwave style infused with delicate dream pop sensibilities.

In 2021 Local Authority return with new member Kailan O’Dell and their latest single 'Forever, For Now'.



4ZZZ Band & Musician Subscribers